Katy on the patio of Hotel Paradise, Bhaktapur

Katy on the patio of Hotel Paradise, Bhaktapur

Temple of the Pilot Guru

Temple of the Pilot Guru

Today we accompanied a group of iTrek staff on a volunteer mission to clean up a terraced picnic area at Ghyambedanda, near the temple of the Pilot Guru. An amazing amount of trash of all sorts, including a lot of broken glass, was picked up by our group. I complained about the broken glass and our Nepali friends said guys get drunk and then break the bottles (eyeroll) (see, people really are the same the world over). Ironically, most of the trash was then burned, including the plastic bottles, cups, and spoons, contributing to the smoggy haze of the Kathmandu valley while slightly beautifying the landscape. (Trash will turn out to be a pervasive problem in Nepal. I believe littering was de riguer in the USA up until the mid-Sixties, when “give a hoot” educational campaigns helped clean up the country, so I guess there is hope.)

P1010083

I have no idea what was done with the glass

Trash, trash, trash

Trash, trash, trash

P1010084

Handsome Nepali men clean up!

Afterward a group of us hiked back to the Paradise Hotel. For me, it was a strenuous hike and much steeper than just about anything I’ve experienced at home. I suspect the Annapurna trek will be hard for me, and that I’ll be able to do it, as long as I got as slowly as I need to (just like RAGBRAI). (Later: my toenails were a bit long on this day, with the result that my nails rubbed inside my boots and made my toes hurt. This was easily remedied, but my right big toenail eventually turned a soft shade of purple but did not fall off.)

I photobombed the pic these guys were taking, and they were great sports about it

I photobombed the pic these guys were taking, and they were great sports about it

Ganesh

Ganesh

Leave a Reply

