Getting my cycling mojo back…maybe?

IMG_1106

Well, the harsh Midwestern winter seems to have taken its toll on the best of us, and I’ve been ever so slowly getting back into cycling. But I’ve been lazy with my work commute, taking the most direct route and not enjoying the longer route through the nature preserve that I generally take during the summer.

Yesterday I joined our cycling club’s annual new rider call-out, and did the E ride (11-13 mph avg) of about 18 miles. It was nice and slow and I talked to some new folks who were trying out the club. I didn’t feel enthusiastic about it until I got to the starting point and started socializing. Then I felt happy to see folks I hadn’t seen all winter.

On the ride I noticed that I didn’t feel nearly as strong as I have felt in the past. But I also acknowledged that if I just keep riding every day, it won’t be long before I get my mojo back.

So, today I did another 18-mile ride with a friend. We similarly hadn’t seen each other since last summer, so we had a great, chatty ride. Bonuses: we saw a snapping turtle (above), and lots of great blue herons and white egrets.

My plan for the week is to start taking the six-mile ride through the Bog on my commute and just get miles on my body. No worries about speeds or mileage, just getting back to enjoying life on two wheels again.

One thought on “Getting my cycling mojo back…maybe?

  1. G.E.

    You will get there. It’s tough to go from little to no riding back to long distance rides, for sure. It’s easy to feel out of it as the season starts, but as you said, if you keep at it, you’ll be there before long. I always start out saying this to myself and then do something punishing before I’m really ready for it (I’ve signed myself up for a Gran Fondo this month and I am by no means in a state of readiness for it).

    I am impressed that you have a cycling group that does a call for an early and short distance ride. I wish ours would do that. Their first ride was close to 50 miles. How I’m supposed to be up to that, I have no idea. I think I need to find a new group to ride with if I intend to ride with others this season because I don’t like the long distance, all-or-nothing rides they seem to want to do early in the season. The worst part is that the rides started in March, and since weather was still iffy at that point, they’ve had to cancel rides since then, making it difficult to get any sort of rhythm going.

    Happy riding!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

