Here’s where the rubber meets the road

Guess what! It’s starting to get cold out in the mornings! I had a moment this morning where I considered driving the car to the gym. Then I realized that I’d freeze in the car, anyway, because the gym is only .8 mile away & the car wouldn’t get warm before I arrived. So, I sucked it up & rode my bike.

My spouse has asked how long I’ll keep riding my bike to the gym for my 7am workouts. I don’t know. I’d like to keep cycling as long as the roads aren’t bad. But dang! The first few minutes out in the cold are hard, especially when it wasn’t very long ago that you were snuggled up in your warm bed, asleep even.

Coping with feeling cold has been a challenge for me that past few years. It seemed that after I lost about 50 lbs I started getting cold all the time. Then I learned my thyroid was messed up, which helped further explain some of my coldness. But I *know* when I layer appropriately and get outside & MOVE, I warm up.  Same with sitting around the house (and we keep our thermostat on 60F when we’re home & awake).  Feel cold?  Get up & do something for a minute or two & I’ll feel the difference.

So, I’ll keep on riding in the cold for a while. This is all a grand experiment anyway, isn’t it?

3 thoughts on “Here’s where the rubber meets the road

  1. G.E.

    I hear ya on the cold! This morning I was all bundled up with giant wool hat, gloves, three layers on my upper body, and I still couldn’t get warm. The hardest part for me is the switch over because here it never goes all at once. We’ll have a cold snap for a few days, and then be back in the 70s (or even 80s sometimes) and then back down. It makes it difficult for our bodies to adjust.

    As for me, I ride unless the roads are icy, or it reaches less than 20 degrees F. Sometimes I can still manage it in the sub-20 temps, but it requires so much bundling and subsequent stripping that it can, at times, feel as though it isn’t worth it.

    Reply
    1. Iris Murasaki Post author

      GE, I had to laugh at myself. I started to take the six-mile path to work, but when I got to a two-mile spur I decided to skip that part because in the morning it’s shaded…and therefore cooler. In the summertime this part was so refreshing. Anyway, I enjoyed the spur on the way home, when the temps had risen, oh, thirty degrees.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

