Doctor, should I be concerned?

This morning on my way to work I felt HIGH ON LIFE.

How often do YOU feel HIGH ON LIFE during your morning commute?  I’m talking EUPHORIC.

Well, it’s been happening to me more and more frequently.

I live roughly two miles from my office, but this summer I mapped out a six-mile scenic route that goes through a nature preserve.  I have ridden this way to work almost every day, except when I was running late and had a meeting or other time-sensitive obligation.

I leave my house & head west.  Soon I cross a bridge over a marsh where sometimes I spot deer from the bridge.  At the end of the bridge I turn right & ride a bike path through the woods for a mile (this is the nature preserve part).  At the end of the mile I turn around and go back through the preserve in the direction of work.  There is a very long, not-too-steep ascent that I can take casually, or in a more aerobic fashion.  There’s another two miles on bike path, then I enter a road.  I zip down a hill, negotiate a traffic light, and turn onto campus.  If there’s no traffic, I spend about eight blocks riding hands free down a smooth stretch of road, until I approach the roundabout,  where I usually get that HIGH ON LIFE feeling.    After the roundabout there are two stretches of road that had parking spaces marked with white paint…then the marks covered up with black paint to take the parking away.  Anyway, if there is no car approaching behind me, I slalom around all the parking marks. I feel like a little kid!  I’m having so much fun!

Then I’m at work.  I lock up my bike in front of my building, roll down my pant legs, detach my bike bag from the rack & sling it over my shoulder, and take off my helmet & sunglasses as I enter the building.  Today might be a mellow work day, or it might be a stressful work day.  My time might be all my own, or I might have meetings one after another.  It doesn’t really matter;  I’m already having a good day.

2 thoughts on “Doctor, should I be concerned?

  1. trisha

    Sounds pretty idyllic! I am impressed that you are able to get it together enough to extend your morning ride — it’s all I can do to get out the door in time for my actual commute. 🙂

    Reply
    1. Iris Murasaki Post author

      Oh, hi, Trisha!! I am very fortunate that I do not have to punch a clock at a certain time….I have a great deal of flexibility with my job, so I can usually “afford” my morning bike ritual. And I assure you (and my employer) that I am a better worker for coming in a little later but having completed my six-mile ride. Body is awake, brain is awake and CLEAR. I try to do the same ride on the way home, too.

      I have switched to showering at night to save time in the morning (it’s good for my hair, too, since at night I tend to air dry, rather than blow dry). If I started packing our lunches at night, too, I’d be in even better shape in the morning, time-wise.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

